University Post-Holders

The University supports three full-time New Testament posts in the Faculty of Theology and Religion, whose holders are also the primary supervisors of Master’s and D.Phil. students:

Markus Bockmuehl

Dean Ireland’s Professor of the Exegesis of Holy Scripture; Fellow of Keble College

David Downs

Clarendon-Laing Associate Professor in New Testament Studies; Tutorial Fellow in Theology and Religion at Keble College

Jennifer Strawbridge

Associate Professor in New Testament Studies; G.B. Caird Tutorial Fellow in Theology at Mansfield College

For 2020-2022 we have been joined by Dr Jeremiah Coogan (previously at the University of Notre Dame) as a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow funded by the European Research Council. Dr Coogan’s research project is entitled ‘Expanding the Gospel according to Matthew: Continuity and Change in Early Gospel Literature’. He is a Research Associate at Keble College as well as a Visiting Scholar at the Oxford Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies.

The wider Oxford New Testament research community includes more than a dozen other New Testament scholars. While they do not hold an academic appointment in the University, many are employed in Colleges or Permanent Private Halls, or possibly retired but still active in or near Oxford. They may have a link with the Faculty of Theology and Religion as Associate Members. A partial list includes the following: